NANS Awards

Kumar New Investigator Award

Krishna Kumar, MBBS, MS, FRCSC (1931-2014) was a pioneer of neuromodulation and world-recognized leader in the neurosurgical treatment of pain. Dr. Kumar led seminal studies in deep brain stimulation for chronic pain and established the safety, efficacy, and cost effectiveness of spinal cord stimulation. Dr. Kumar served as a NANS board member and was a frequent lecturer at NANS annual meetings.

The North American Neuromodulation Society established the Kumar New Investigator Award to encourage scientific work in neuromodulation. The award is given to honor the legacy of Dr. Krishna Kumar and is accompanied by a $5,000 grant, generously funded by Medtronic, Inc. The award will be presented on stage during, “Plenary Session IV: Show Me The Evidence,” on Saturday, January 13, 2018.

2018 Award Winner

NANS17 Speakers 400x400 Englot Dario

Dario Englot, MD, PhD
“Altered structural and functional connectivity of brainstem arousal centers in temporal lobe epilepsy”

2018 NANS Travel Fellowship Award

To further encourage participation by scientists, neurologists, and advanced practice providers at the 2018 NANS Annual Meeting, NANS is sponsoring 15 travel awards of $1,000. Applicants must be currently in training or have completed training within the last 10 years. Applicants submitted an essay outlining their background with an explanation of what they could bring to NANS and how they would benefit from the award.

2018 Award Winners

Herman Gonzalez, MS
Jennifer Muller
Jaes Jones
Saiyun Hou, MD PhD
Greg Bara, PhD

Advanced Practice Providers:
Daniella Parravano, NP
Melissa Falkowski
Trisha Cooper, PA-C
Meghan Wilock, PA
Ebony Green, NP

Kasra Maasumi, MD MS
Ketan Jhunjhunwala, PhD

Yagna Pathak- Neurosurgery
Katja Kovacic, MD - Pediatric Gastoenterology
Pranav Jagtap, MD - Psychiatry